FLUMSERBERG (TANNENBODENALP) – PRODALP

Hiking Route

Panoramic winter hike on the Flumserberg from Tannenbodenalp though the Crappawald woods to Prodalp. A classic! This round trip gives you a stunning panorama of the jagged Churfirsten mountains, the rocky peak of the Spitzenmeilen, the Liechtenstein Alps, and Walensee lake deep down in the valley below.

Start: Tannenbodenalp bus station / upper cable car terminus (parking available)

Finish: Tannenbodenalp bus station / upper cable car terminus

Stops: Accommodation and food: various options at Tannenbodenalp Food only: Chrüz mountain restaurant, Prodalp mountain restaurant

Description: Signposted winter hiking trail

Highlights: Views of the Churfirsten, Crappawald and Madils Plateau

  • 00.00h Tannenbodenalp, 1375 m
  • 01.05h Chrüz, 1597 m
  • 01.50h Prodalp, 1572 m
  • 02.45h Tanzplatz, 1437 m
  • 03.00h Tannenbodenalp, 1375 m

Description

The winter hike starts at  Tannenbodenalp on the Flumserberg. You get there either by cable car  from Unterterzen on Lake Walensee or by PostBus, for example from Sargans or Flums. There are various places to eat and sleep at Tannenbodenalp, including the cosy Hotel Tannenboden-Steinbock (+41 81 733 11 22), close to the slopes.

The hike takes you from Tannenbodenalp to the bottom of the Maschgenkamm ski lift towards Chrüz, and from there to the left up lightly wooded slopes towards Schwammchopf and Tanzplatz (the “dance floor”). Shortly before Tanzplatz you head left towards Winkelzahn, then once you’re level with Chrüz  turn left to the Floomzer toboggan chute. The wide walking path now takes you under the Floomzer. At the first fork in the path you take a right, and then, before the second fork, cross the ski piste. After around 500 m you take the path to the left towards Chrüz, uphill to Chrüz mountain restaurant (+41 81 733 13 22). From there you traverse the piste again. Behind the station at the bottom of the Stelli chairlift there’s a short, steep climb through light forest. A magnificent view awaits you! The path then takes you gently downhill along the Crappawald woods to Prodalp (+41 81 733 27 23), and down to Madils Plateau. From there the path takes you along more or less level ground through sunny, snowy moorland. After a short ascent at Schwammkopf you head to the wooden hut (“Holzhütte”) by the  Tanzplatz, and shortly afterwards you’re back where you started at Tannenbodenalp.

FLUMSERBERG (TANNENBODENALP) – PRODALP

FLUMSERBERG (TANNENBODENALP) – PRODALP

Wanderbeschrieb

Aussichtsreiche Winterwanderung auf dem Flumserberg von der Tannenbodenalp durch den Crappawald zur Prodalp. Ein Klassiker! Die Rundtour verspricht ein grandioses Panorama auf die Churfirsten, den markanten Spitzenmeilen, die Liechtensteiner Alpen und Tiefblicke zum Walensee.

Ausgangspunkt: Tannenbodenalp – Busstation / Bergstation Gondelbahn (PP vorhanden)

Endpunkt: Tannenbodenalp – Busstation / Bergstation Gondelbahn

Einkehr: Unterkunft und Verpflegung: diverse auf der Tannenbodenalp
Nur Verpflegung: Bergrestaurant Chrüz, Bergrestaurant Prodalp

Anforderungen: Markierter Winterwanderweg

Highlights: Aussicht auf die Churfirsten, Crappawald, Hochebene Madils

  • 00.00h Tannenbodenalp, 1375 m
  • 01.05h Chrüz, 1597 m
  • 01.50h Prodalp, 1572 m
  • 02.45h Tanzplatz, 1437 m
  • 03.00h Tannenbodenalp, 1375 m

Wegbeschrieb

Ausgangspunkt der Winterwanderung ist die Tannenbodenalp auf dem Flumserberg. Erreichbar entweder mit der Gondelbahn von Unterterzen am Walensee oder mit dem Postauto zum Beispiel von Sargans oder Flums. Die Tannenbodenalp bietet einige Einkehr- und Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten − unter anderen das gemütliche Hotel Tannenboden-Steinbock (+41 81 733 11 22), das nahe der Skipiste liegt.

Der Winterwanderweg führt von der Tannenbodenalp zur Talstation der Maschenkammbahn Richtung Chrüz, von dort nach links durch den lichten Wald hinauf Richtung Schwammchopf und zum Tanzplatz. Kurz vor dem Tanzplatz biegt man nach rechts Richtung Winkelzahn, dann auf der Höhe von Chrüz  nach links abbiegen zur Rodelbahn Floomzer. Der breite Spazierweg führt nun unter dem Floomzer durch. Bei der ersten Weggabelung im Wald nach rechts abbiegen, vor der zweiten Verzweigung überquert man die Skipiste. Nach ca. 500 m nimmt man den Weg links Richtung Chrüz und hinauf zum Bergrestaurant Chrüz (+41 81 733 13 22). Von dort traversiert man erneut die Skipiste. Hinter der Talstation der Sesselbahn Stelli folgt ein kurzer, steiler Aufstieg durch den lichten Wald. Nun bietet der Weg eine grandiose Aussicht! Gemütlich geht die Winterwanderung leicht abwärts am Crappawald entlang zur Prodalp (+41 81 733 27 23). Und von dort hinunter zur Hochebene Madils. Auf fast ebenem Weg wandert man durch das verschneite, sonnig gelegene Moor. Nach einem kurzen Anstieg beim Schwammkopf geht es zur Holzhütte beim Tanzplatz und wenig später erreicht man den Ausgangspunkt Tannenbodenalp.